The playgroup’s educational programme is divided into 3 ‘Prime’ and 4 ‘Specific’ areas of learning. These goals all relate to the Foundation Stage of learning:


  1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  2. Communication, Language
  3. Physical Development
  1. Literacy
  2. Mathematics
  3. Understanding the world
  4. Expressive Arts and Design

St. Mary’s and the Community

We encourage visitors from local organisations such as the Police, Fire Service, Post Office, Road Safety, local schools and churches to come in and talk to the children. The children also visit local shops, cafes and the local library

In the summer term the children visit Charlton Kings Infant school several times, preparing them for their move to Reception. There are also summer term outings organised.

We are very grateful to our local community for their continuing support and regularly donating prizes to our fund-raising events.